Dalhous - Will To Be Well 2xLP

$25.00 $13.00

In stock


A1 First Page From Justine
A2 A Communion With These People
A3 Function Curve
A4 Sensitised To This Area
B1 Lovers Of The Highlands
B2 Four Daughters By Four Women
B3 Her Mind Was A Blank
B4 Transference
C1 To Be Universal You Must Be Specific
C2 Someone Secure
C3 Entertain The Idea
D1 Abyssal Plane
D2 Thoughts Out Of Season
D4 Masquerading As Love
Will To Be Well is the new studio album by Dalhous, their second for Blackest Ever Black. This double-LP reflects writer-producer Marc Dall's continued interest in the life and arcana of R.D. Laing, but also alludes to more universal and enduring mysteries: the relationships between body and mind, illness and wellness, the physical and the metaphysical. The fifteen tracks assembled here also showcase the maturation of a uniquely gifted and expressive composer: Dall's stirring, efflorescent melodies and stately harmonic architectures, with their grievously honed simplicity, are a delight: lucid, lyrical, immediate. For all the modernity of Dalhous's approach, the album recalls a bygone era in synthesized and sample-based music, a time when its practitioners were not just set-designers but storytellers too. Will To Be Well arrives just one year on from the Edinburgh-based project's tenebrous debut, An Ambassador For Laing, which was released to widespread acclaim in Spring 2013: The Wire praised "a frequently beautiful music, whose often calm surface belies the powerful currents moving beneath it", while FACT called the LP a 'wonderfully compelling head-scratcher...opaque, elusive - and fascinating.' Nonetheless, a notable shift in tone has occurred in the fourteen months that have elapsed. If Ambassador was a tussle between darkness and light that ended in stalemate, with Will To Be Will it seems the light might just be winning. Pieces like 'Transference' and 'Her Mind Was A Blank' project a rapturous psychedelic intensity; 'To Be Universal You Must Be Specific' and 'Entertain The Idea' adopt the serene ambient register of recent Dalhous EP Visibility Is A Trap; while 'Sensitised To This Area' goes about its business with an almost Balearic swagger. But light too can be oppressive: the sun that gives life can also burn, and bleach, and blind. And even amid the endorphin rush of the album's most ebullient passages, there is the sense of a greater melancholy, an intractable doubt, lurking beneath the surface. Dalhous's music is suitably paradoxical, managing to sound at once futuristic and folkloric, both technologically advanced and avowedly pastoral. The elegiac repetitions of 'A Communion With These People' and the pagan drones of 'Lovers Of The Highlands' speak of Dall and his studio partner Alex Ander's deep connection to the rugged contours of their native Scottish landscape, while on 'Four Daughters By Four Women' and 'Thoughts Out Of Season' convulsive post-rave rhythms are employed to evoke ancient natural cycles. Though Will To Be Well is a less obviously eerie album than its predecessor, Dalhous's nose for the uncanny remains. A defining album from a major young artist.

Additional information

Weight 24 oz
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram