Various - Prophecy + Progress: UK Electronics 1978-1990 LP


In stock

Categories: , ,



A1. Clock DVA – Lomticks of Time (1978)
A2. Vice Versa – Idol (1979)
A3. Colin Potter – Number 5 (1980)
A4. Konstruktivists – Vision Speed (1981)
A5. Naked Lunch – Rabies (1981)
A6. Five Times of Dust – Automation (1981)

B1: Schleimer K – Women (1981)
B2: V-Sor,X – Conversation With (1981)
B3: Attrition – Beast of Burden (2006 Remaster) (1984)
B4: Peter Hope + David Harrow – Too Hot (1986)
B5: John Costello – Total Shutdown (1986)
B6: T.A.G.C. – Further and Evident Meanings (1986)
B7: John Avery – 12AM and Looking Down (1990)

A 13-track compilation that represents the burgeoning Electronic music scene in the UK. An eclectic mix of acts that were experimenting with newly available technology during the years 1978-1990. Although electronic experimentation had been explored in the decades before, a myriad of experimenters were recording 'alien, eerie, sterile, austere and vaguely menacing' music in Industrial cities like Sheffield or post-war London. The antidote to the Thatcher government at the time seemed to be a quiet rebellion in the shape of dark and alienating soundscapes by acts that are now considered pioneers, or have achieved cult status. It's an attempt to rekindle those heady days of experimentation and to encourage new generations to rebel and forgo the fashionable posturing that comes with anything vaguely 'interesting'. Features: Clock DVA, Vice Versa, Colin Potter, Konstruktivists, Naked Lunch, Five Times Of Dust, Schleimer K, V-Sor X, Attrition, Peter Hope + David Harrow, John Costello, T.A.C.G. (The Anti Group), and John Avery. Ltd x 500 copies.

Additional information

Weight 17 oz
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram