David Microwave - 1980-83 LP


In stock

Categories: , ,


A1 I Can't Say
A2 Off Track Bets
A3 Permissive Attitudes
A4 Echo Night
A5 No Way
B1 I Don't Want To Hold You
B2 Record Player
B3 Young & Ready
B4 Today's Days Away
B5 Last Night

Reissue of David Microwave solo material from 1980-83. David Javelosa (aka David Microwave), founder of Los Microwaves with Meg Brazil and Todd Rosa, were a San Francisco trio in which synthesizers predominated. Although they issued 45s as early as 1979, their debut album came out in 1981, by which time leader Javelosa had done a five-song, 12-inch EP on his own, using musicians outside his band.

Javelosa's solo effort offers straightforward synthesized pop music with swirling keyboards (including familiar-sounding organ), acoustic drums and engaging vocals. The record shows polish, but retains a slightly amateurish sense, making it paradoxically complex and simple at the same time.

Additional information

Weight 21 oz
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram