Those Attractive Magnets - ElectroMagnetic Pulse LP

SKU: DE-005 Categories: , , , , Tag:


  • 1. 1500
  • 2. Nightlife
  • 3. Falling From View
  • 4. Change
  • 5. Venus
  • 6. Survivors
  • 7. Love Chimes
  • 8. We Fade Into (Secret Silence)
  • 9. Radio Weeps, Television Cries

Those Attractive Magnets were created early 1980 in a town called Tamworth, the heart of the English Midlands, as a vehicle for Rikk Quay (keyboards) and Andy Baldwin (vocals). They self-released a super limited cassette EP, Pictures on the Wall in 1980 and the Nightlife/Love Chimes 7" in 1983 and appeared on a Futurist music compilation LP, Synthetic Romance in 1982.

Their music travels beyond copycat synthpop bands of the time into electronic realms of the 80s underground scene. There are some obvious parallels of the time – you can hear the commercial strains of The Human League, Soft Cell and Kraftwerk at times – but the band never wholly embraced commercialism as these tracks reveal. Although their sound takes a cue from the post-punk and early new romantic scenes, it still remains one step ahead in a unique futuristic world full of delicious dance beats!

Electromagnetic Pulse is the first ever compilation of a number of tapes Those Attractive Magnets produced during their three creative and prolific years of song writing, 1980-1983. This LP contains remastered versions of both songs from the 7" as well as 2 songs from the cassette EP and a different version of the song that appeared on Synthetic Romance; 9 songs in total, 7 of which have never appeared on vinyl until now! Limited to 500 hand-numbered copies with an 11x17 poster/insert of lyrics, photos and liner notes by Sam Holliday.

Sound samples HERE

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram