Los Microwaves - The Birth of Techno


SKU: HYPSPLP05 Categories: , ,


      01 Los Microwaves - Thin Ice
      02 Los Microwaves I Can't Say
      03 Los Microwaves Silent Screamers
      04 Los Microwaves What's To Do
      05 Los Microwaves And Ever
      06 Los Microwaves Sniper
      07 Los Microwaves Bride of Suicide
      08 Los Microwaves My Baby Tried to Kill Me
      09 Los Microwaves - My Name is the Same
      10 Los Microwaves Too Many Humans

Colored Red Vinyl Limited to 500 copies

This playfully titled release features David Javelosa (on synth and vocals) along with Meg Brazill (on bass and vocals) plus drummer Todd “Rosa” Rosencrans. Side One features five studio tracks, none of which were included on the band’s 1981 Posh Boy LP, Life After Breakfast. Three of these tracks were recorded in ‘82; there’s no information regarding the provenance of the other two songs. The records’ second side collects five live recordings, capturing Los Microwaves onstage in New York City (The Peppermint Lounge) and Boston as well as at San Francisco’s own I-Beam, a venue that often played host to the band. Those tracks date form roughly the same ear, 1980-83. Sonically the songs variously recall Blondie, Flying Lizards, Gang of Four and a far less dour Human League. Importantly, the band rocks, even when it’s employing a spare drum kit, solid but elemental bass, and monophonic analog synthesizers. The stripped down aesthetics of the group – necessitated by its minimalist instrumental approach – are nonetheless thrilling. Even if you weren’t there in 1980, this’ll take you back.

Additional information

Weight 20 oz
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram