Various - Club Foot


Out of stock

Categories: , ,


A1. Longshoremen . What Does It All Mean? . 2:36
A2. Alterboys . Roy Orbit's Son . 3:02
A3. Alterboys . Frank Sinatra . 2:23
A4. Club Foot Orchestra . Theme From Club Foot . 2:15
B1. Naked City . Atomic Age . 3:26
B2. Naked City . Modern Jazz . 2:54
B3. Bay Of Pigs . Everything Changes . 3:03
B4. Bay Of Pigs . I'm Writing It Down . 5:50
B5. Club Foot Orchestra . Theme From Club Foot: Medley . 2:18

Numbered pressing of 450 copies, original artwork and fold-out packaging, with wacky new insert.

The Club Foot LP is named after one of San Francisco's premier artist-run venues of the late 70s/early 80s, and documents the jazz-punk-DIY-situationist sounds nurtured therein. Originally released in 1981 by legendary local imprint Subterranean Records (Flipper, Dead Kennedys, Inflatable Boy Clams), it was recently repressed in a limited edition of 450 12'' LP's to coincide with Club Foot's 30th anniversary and an "Artifacts from SF's Art Punk Cabaret" event at the San Francisco Public Library.
Club Foot was founded by Richard Kelly, a student of John Cage who sought to "marry high art values to the vitality of underground performance art; to fuse Frank Sinatra, Roy Orbison and Albert Ayler and project that onto the art-rock stage" (this from an article on the Clubfoot Orchestra's website). The original Club Foot Orchestra was a revolving cast of characters from the local scene assembled for this LP recording, including Richard Edson (who appears on the cover) and other members of the bands who appear on this compilation: Bay of Pigs, Alterboys, Longshoremen and Naked City (not the Zorn one). The ensemble disbanded in 1983 after Richard Kelly committed suicide, and the Club itself closed its doors in 1985.

Additional information

Weight 18 oz
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram